Callahan (Titans) Admits Error in Catch Rule: Ayomanor Affected

alofoke
2 Min Read

NASHVILLE, Tenn. – Titans coach Brian Callahan admitted he made an incorrect decision by not challenging an official’s ruling that overturned a 23-yard reception by rookie receiver Elic Ayomanor in the 20-12 loss to the Broncos on Sunday.

My interpretation of the rule was incorrect. I own that. I didn’t do a good job in that moment and should have challenged it, and it probably would have resulted in an explosive play.

Brian Callahan
Callahan (Titans) Admits Error in Catch Rule: Ayomanor Affected
El receptor de los Titans, Elic Ayomanor, logró mantener el codo dentro de los límites en esta atrapada, que fue declarada incompleta el domingo. El entrenador de los Titans, Brian Callahan, explicó que no desafió la decisión porque malinterpretó la regla.
Ayomanor managed to keep his elbow in bounds when he fell after making the catch. Callahan did not challenge the play because he did not have a clear view of whether Ayomanor also got a foot down.

An elbow does not equal two feet, so he would also have had to put his foot on the ground.

Brian Callahan
According to the rules, a player must make contact with the ground within the boundaries with both feet or any part of the body other than the hands. The decision should have been challenged. There were others in his place, like Rob Riederer, the director of game management and strategic initiatives, who could have told him to challenge the play. Callahan did not say whether or not he received a directive from the game management department to challenge the play. Instead, he took full responsibility for the mistake.

I misspoke. I know the rule well, I understand how it works, and the way I articulated it later was incorrect. And I understand the rules of this game pretty well.

Brian Callahan
Share This Article