NASHVILLE, Tenn. – Titans coach Brian Callahan admitted he made an incorrect decision by not challenging an official’s ruling that overturned a 23-yard reception by rookie receiver Elic Ayomanor in the 20-12 loss to the Broncos on Sunday.
My interpretation of the rule was incorrect. I own that. I didn’t do a good job in that moment and should have challenged it, and it probably would have resulted in an explosive play.
Brian Callahan

According to the rules, a player must make contact with the ground within the boundaries with both feet or any part of the body other than the hands. The decision should have been challenged. There were others in his place, like Rob Riederer, the director of game management and strategic initiatives, who could have told him to challenge the play. Callahan did not say whether or not he received a directive from the game management department to challenge the play. Instead, he took full responsibility for the mistake.An elbow does not equal two feet, so he would also have had to put his foot on the ground.
Brian Callahan
I misspoke. I know the rule well, I understand how it works, and the way I articulated it later was incorrect. And I understand the rules of this game pretty well.
Brian Callahan